June: You. Yes. You.

  • AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You guys, this month…I can’t even begin to be rational and composed about it. I just love it too much. This post is going to be light on well-reasoned analysis, and heavy on unadulterated enthusiasm.
  • June starts off with a really great moment between Jessica and Bridget. I’m so much more attached to Bridget than I ever will be to Hope. Jessica talks about how Hope is her BFF, we see Jessica’s letters to Hope, and we even know how Hope orchestrated the whole prom night, but I don’t feel like I know her. Because of the diary format, everything is filtered through Jess, but her transcribed conversations with Bridget feel more direct than anything we get about Hope, who I tend to think of as an extension of Jessica rather than a different person.
  • Thank goodness Jess could go prom shopping in Bethany’s closet! Of course you can’t get a dress right before prom! What if you need alterations?
  • I love prom codes of conduct. My high school’s version of no lewd dance moves was “no fanny dancing.” Uh, what?
  • Ugh! Manda and Len. Of course Manda has a theory.
  • Scotty is still the worst. The conversation he and Jess have before prom says more about feminism than anything Manda ever spouted.
  • You. Yes. You.
  • Seriously, You. Yes. You. is, to me, THE MOST ROMANTIC GESTURE EVER. I swoon every time I think about it and it makes me giddy-happy. It’s pretty much perfect.
  • I love Jess’s dopey, one-word responses when she and Marcus talk after the song. And when she finally tells him, “I’m quiet because we’ve done enough talking” (329), it’s so smooth and perfect in a way that most of us only hope to be.
  • And when they finally have sex, McCafferty’s description is so classy and restrained.
  • Scotty’s yearbook quote is my favorite—concise, yet still douchey.  But Marcus’s is perfect (a word that I’m throwing around a lot in this post, with good reason).
One thought on “June: You. Yes. You.

  1. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The best month in any of the Jessica Darling novels. I do have to say that I’m a little worried that You Yes You is a bad song. But! That doesn’t mean that I don’t absolutely love the gesture. I also really love the exchange between Jessica and her mom when she picks out her dress.

Leave a Reply

